by Kristen Egan, Development Manager

In 2018, we set a bold goal. As the Institute’s 50th Anniversary approached, it was an ideal moment in our history to build the foundation for the Institute’s long-term fiscal health via an endowment. We recognized the need for long-term program enrichment, sustained funding for core programs, and sought that ability to respond to evolving demands facing the Institute and the natural resources that we steward.

At the dawn of the next era of the Institute, it was our time to take the next bold move to ensure that these marshes and this Institute are here for generations to come. Our supporters stepped up in remarkable ways, and despite the challenges of 2020, we have successfully completed the endowment campaign.

We are indebted to everyone who came together to establish the 50th Anniversary Endowment that has already provided certainty in uncertain times. With the closing of our endowment campaign, we can celebrate the lasting legacy that we have built together—a legacy that will live on in perpetuity to help us advance our critical work in environmental research, conservation, and education.


Endowment Campaign Steering Committee

Raymond Burke, III
James Donohue
Anne Galli
Barry Hamilton
Lois Hamilton
Deborah Hays
Cindy Leff
Todd Leff
Carol Mager
Mary Millar
Jane Rakestraw
Hank Schellenger, Chair
Jim Summers
William Wermuth


Endowment Campaign Honor Roll


Estate of Jane Dent
Larry L. Luing Family Foundation
Margaret McAllister & Erik Hirsch
Jim & Jeannie Morris
Barbara & Jim Summers
Sam & JoAnn Thomas
The Wermuth Family


Rosemary & Bill Hankowsky
Leff Family Foundation
Mary M. Millar
Marjorie Moretzsohn
Hank and Julie Schellenger
Jennifer (Jacobs) Zeigler


Sana & Andy Brooks
Ray & Ellen Burke
Roberta “Bert” DeVries
James J. Donohue & Carol A. Mager
Anne Galli
Lois & Barry Hamilton
Michael & Deborah Hays
Kevin & Trish Luing
John P. Millar & Rault W. Kehlor
Julian & Betsy Miraglia
Jane Rakestraw
Donna & Craig Rothman
Gay Schellenger
Jon Tullis
Harold L. Yoh, Jr.


Jeffrey H. & Lee Alderton
G. Wayne & Kay B. Renneisen
Philip & Amy Welsh


Tim & Rose Clay
Michael Craig
Joan Galli
Jim & Susan Handy
Harold & Nancy O’Connor
Estate of Nancy Roberts
Tom & Diane McMeekin


Joseph & Jeannie Colalillo
John & Muriel Cuthbert
John & Dottie Dewey
John Flynn & Kathleen Hocevar
Bonnie L. Higgins & Thomas J. Sullivan
Bob & Josee Rich
Tim & Cindy Roach
Trey & Christine White



Herbert Mills Legacy Society

John & Muriel Cuthbert
Anne Galli
Stephen & Mary Ann Gring
Michael & Deborah Hays
John Flynn & Kathleen Hocevar
Philip & Amy Welsh
Harold L. Yoh., Jr.